OFFICIAL MINUTES
REGULAR MEETING
BOARD OF EDUCATIONAL
SERVICE UNIT NO. 13

The regular meeting of the Board of Educational Service Unit No. 13 (ESU 13) was called to order by the Administrator, Dr. Laura Barrett, on Tuesday, January 18, 2022, at 7:00 PM at the ESU 13 Main Office, 4215 Avenue I, Scottsbluff, NE, and at the following video-conference sites: Alliance Public Schools Adm. Bldg - 1604 Sweetwater, Alliance, NE; ESU 13 Satellite Office - 361 College Drive, Sidney, NE; Hemingford High School - 911 Niobrara Avenue, Hemingford, NE; and Chadron State College - Miller Hall, 1000 Main Street, Chadron, NE. Meeting notice was published in the Star-Herald on Saturday, January 15, 2022.

Dr. Barrett referenced the Nebraska Open Meetings Act as posted and noted that the Board reserves the right to rearrange the order of the agenda and to convene an executive session in accordance with § 84-1410.

Present at Scottsbluff Site: Diane Coon, Steve Diemoz, Bill Knapper, Scott Marsh, Kim Marx, Tom Millette, Mark Sinner, Dr. Laura Barrett - Administrator, Jodi Walker - Business Manager, and Desira Martin - Treasurer. Guests: BJ Peters, Danielle Cole, Erika Guerrero, and Jacey Marietta. Present at Alliance Site: Patricia Jones. Present at Chadron Site: Heather Croufutt. Present at Hemingford Site: Tim Horn. Present at Sidney Satellite: Don Egging (Video sign in at 7:05 PM).

Absent: Ray Richards.

Moved by Millette, seconded by Marsh, that absent Board member Ray Richards be excused. Aye: Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Marx, Millette, Sinner. Nay: none. Absent: Egging, Richards. Motion passed.

Reorganization of the Board

Dr. Barrett called for nominations from the floor for President. Knapper nominated Sinner for President. Moved by Coon, seconded by Diemoz that nominations cease. Aye: Crofutt, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Sinner. Nay: none. Absent: Egging, Richards. Motion passed.

President Sinner called for nominations from the floor for Vice President. Diemoz nominated Marx. Moved by Knapper, seconded by Coon that nominations cease. Aye: Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Sinner. Nay: none. Absent: Richards. Motion passed.

President Sinner called for nominations from the floor for Secretary. Knapper nominated Millette. Moved by Sinner, seconded by Marx that nominations cease. Aye: Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Coon, Crofutt. Nay: none. Abstain: Millette. Absent: Richards. Motion passed.

President Sinner appointed Desira Martin as Treasurer and Recording Secretary.

Board Members were provided electronic copies of state statutes 49-14, 101.01, 49-14, 101.02, and 49-1499.03 regarding Conflict of Interest.

President Sinner asked Board members to read the Code of Ethics for Board Members. Signatures will be collected and filed with the official minutes.

Moved by Millette, seconded by Knapper that the agenda be approved as listed. Aye: Egging, Horn, Jones, Marsh, Marx, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz. Nay: none. Absent: Richards. Motion passed.

Moved by Marsh, seconded by Egging, that the consent action items be approved as

listed (Minutes of December regular meeting, Treasurer's Report, Fund Balance Report, Budget Summary Report, Claims, Certified Resignation: Jean Wegelin, Classified Hire: Lauren Miller, Head Start Fiscal Officer). Aye: Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marx, Millette, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz. Nay: none. Absent: Richards. Motion passed.

The following General Fund claims were approved for payment:

January 18, 2022	
Salaries, Benefits	\$892,722.28
Prof. & Tech. Services; Mileage	\$142,979.78
Leases, Utilities & Maintenance	\$20,285.61
Copies, Postage, Telephone & Travel	\$82,006.59
Supplies, Materials, Software & other Util.	\$61,574.47
Bldg. Improvements, Furn., Equipment, Hardware, Vehicle Acquisition	\$0.00
Transfer for Investments	\$0.00
Dues, Fees & Ind. Costs	\$8,721.99
Total	\$1,208,290.72

Calendar items were noted.

No public forum.

Reports:

Danielle Cole, Director of Title I Part C Education Program, and Erika Guerrero, Program Coordinator, gave an overview of the program. Topics included the number of school districts, counties and students served, eligibility, qualifying work and services provided.

The Finance Committee reported on ESU 13's 2020-21 audit results. Administrator's Report:

- Nebraska School Board Recognition week is January 30-February 5th. Dr. Barrett thanked our Board of Education for their leadership, engagement, and dedication.
- The ESU 13 Foundation formation is continuing to progress.

Old Business: None.

New Business:

Moved by Marsh, seconded by Marx, that the Board approve the Administrator Contract with Dr. Laura Barrett from July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2024. Aye: Jones, Knapper, Millette, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Horn. Nay: none. Absent: Richards. Motion passed.

Moved by Millette, seconded by Knapper that the Board approve the administrator's recommendation to accept the proposal from Big Mack HVAC, LLC in the amount of \$10,968.00 for the installation of the HVAC at the Head Start Early Learning Center location. Aye: Horn, Jones, Marsh, Marx, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging. Nay: none. Absent: Richards. Motion passed.

Moved by Knapper, seconded by Diemoz that the Board approve Jerald Ostdiek to serve as ESU 13's attorney, and Perry Law Firm for ESU 13 Board policy. Aye: Marsh, Marx, Millette, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Egging, Horn, Jones. Nay: none. Absent: Richards. Motion passed.

ESU 13 Board subcommittees were reviewed. Diemoz is added to the Finance Committee.

Moved by Knapper, seconded by Coon that the Board approve ESU 13's current depositories and give the treasurer the latitude to shift money when in ESU 13's best interest. Nebraska Liquid Asset Fund will be included in the named depositories. Aye: Marx, Millette, Sinner, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones, Marsh. Nay: none. Absent: Richards. Motion passed.

Moved by Millette, seconded by Diemoz that the Board approve the Scottsbluff Star-Herald as ESU 13's newspaper of record. Aye: Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Egging, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Marx. Nay: none. Absent: Richards. Motion passed.

Moved by Millette, seconded by Knapper that the Board authorize the business manager to pay credit cards, utilities, and payroll between Board meetings. Aye: Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones, Marsh, Marx. Nay: none. Absent: Richards. Motion passed.

Moved by Knapper, seconded by Egging that the Board approve the Amendment to the Redistricting Resolution Exhibits A and B. Aye: Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Marsh, Marx, Millette. Nay: none. Absent: Richards. Motion passed.

Moved by Sinner, seconded by Knapper that the Board table the approval of the amendments to the VALTS Student Handbook adding *Dress Attire and Student Appearance* (*Dress Code*) and, the additional Attendance Policy Statement. Aye: Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones, Marsh, Marx, Millette. Nay: none. Absent: Richards. Motion passed.

The Board's decision to potentially cancel the July meeting has been postponed and will be presented at a later meeting.

Moved by Marx, seconded by Marsh that the above listed minutes be approved as read. Aye: Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Millette, Sinner, Coon. Nay: none. Absent: Richards. Motion passed.

President Sinner declared the regular meeting adjourned. Next regular meeting will be held on Tuesday, February 15, 2022 at ESU 13 Main Office, 4215 Avenue I, Scottsbluff, NE, and the following video conference sites: ESU 13 Satellite Office - 361 College Drive, Sidney, NE; Alliance Public Schools Adm. Bldg - 1604 Sweetwater, Alliance, NE; Hay Springs High School – 407 N. Baker, Hay Springs, NE; Hemingford High School - 911 Niobrara Avenue, Hemingford, NE; and Chadron State College - Miller Hall, 1000 Main Street, Chadron, NE.